Ulyana Zavyalova

PhD in materials chemistry
International Encaustic Artists (IEA) member

Art for and with kids

Art for and with kids

“The grown-ups’ response, this time, was to advise me to lay aside my drawings of boa constrictors, whether from the inside or the outside, and devote myself instead to geography, history, arithmetic, and grammar. That is why, at the age of six, I gave up what might have been a magnificent career as a painter.“

 The Little Prince | Antoine De Saint-Exupery

  Doing art together with kids makes fun and helps them to develop creative thinking, concentration and self-confidence. Even if first drawings of your child seem to you strange and “technically wrong”, show respect and real consideration for kid’s work. Here i’d like to share some tips and ideas from my experience with children.
Footprints in sand

Footprints in sand


Green for live

Green for live

Hand- and footprints as memory-artwork

You can do yourself an unique memory-artwork even with your little baby. You need just a piece of carton or canvas of proper size and with interesting congenial background. For baby’s prints I recommend to use skin-friendly colors like gouache or special body-paints. Don’t forget to date and subscribe your artwork when finished. It is also advisable to cover it with varnish for protection from damage by incidental contact and light abrasion. TIP: Walking is one of the most exciting developmental milestones. You can create an artwork with baby’s first steps as memory of this huge step towards child’s independence. Just lay down prepared in advance canvas with congenial background; carefully dunk your baby’s both foots in proper paint; and use both hands to support your toddler and let him make some steps on the prepared paint background. Thoroughly clean baby’s skin from colors when finished! If some prints appear to be not so clear-cut, you can gingerly correct them without changing their form later. TIP: With young children one can do funny artworks with optical illusions of footprints made by fist and fingers, as shown in the picture “Footprints in sand”.  

Collage made of original childrens’ drawings

In the age of 4–7 years children have a phase of intellectual realism. Little artists reflect their own reality according to subjective ideas and imagination in their drawings. That is way especially in this age kids’ non-verbal “messages” and self-expressions are very important for good communication between children and their parents. TIP: Together with child try to combine some of his original drawings with a certain subject into one complex art-composition. Such kind of collage is a great occasion for art discussions and reflections and aims to increase children’s motivation about painting.   Example: Collage made of original drawings by Maya (5 years old).

ThTitel: rough the eyes of a child

Through the eyes of a child

Funny forms and figures

Kids often can view the world from an absolutely new point of view. Creativity means also willingness to make something uncommon and exceptional. I was often surprised by ability of my 5–year-old daughter interpret me sense and find figures in every scribbles-blots-splashes images. Strange kids’ drawings and experiments with various ways of color application resulted in some funny picture themes..  

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Ulyana Zavyalova

promovierte Chemikerin
International Encaustic Artists (IEA) Mitglied

Kunst für und mit Kindern

Kunst für und mit Kindern

Die großen Leute haben mir geraten, mit Zeichnungen von offenen oder geschlossenen Riesenschlangen aufzuhören und mich mehr für Geographie, Geschichte, Rechnen und Grammatik zu interessieren. So kam es, dass ich eine großartige Laufbahn, die eines Malers nämlich, bereits im Alter von sechs Jahren aufgab.“

 Der kleine Prinz | Antoine de Saint-Exupery

  Um die Vorstellungskraft, Selbstvertrauen und Konzentrationsfähigkeit bei Kindern zu fördern, wichtig ist eine „Freiraum“ für die kleine Künstler zu schaffen und dabei viel Aufmerksamkeit und Akzeptanz ihrem kreativen Prozess zu schenken. Ich möchte hier einige Mal-Ideen und Tipps aus meiner Erfahrung mit Kindern teilen.
Footprints in sand

Footprints in sand


Green for live

Green for live

Hand – und Fußabdrücke in Bild integrieren

Künstlerische Erinnerungsbilder mit Hand – und Fußabdrücke Ihres Kindes kann man schon mit ganz Kleinen machen. Dafür brauchen Sie einen abstrakten Hintergrund, der von der Farbpalette und Stimmung Ihnen passt. Für die Babys-Abdrücke empfehle ich hautfreundliche Körperfarbe oder Gouache-Farben zu nehmen. Abschließend kann man Details mit Acrylfarbe bearbeiten, mit Datum versehen und mit Universal-Firnis versiegeln. TIPP: Babys erste eigene Schritte sind ein Meilenstein in seiner Entwicklung. Sie können ein einzigartiges Bild zur Erinnerung machen, indem Sie eines großen Stück festes Papier oder Leinwand mit passendem Hintergrundmuster auf den Boden legen; die Füße ihres Kleines vorsichtig in eine Körper- oder Gouache-Farben eintauchen und dem Kind auf dem Malgrund paar Schritte laufen lassen. Dabei unterstützen Sie das Kind am besten mit Ihrer Hand. Anschließend die Farbe gut abwaschen. TIPP: Mit größere Kinder kann man lustige Fäustchen- und Fingerabdrücke, die wie Fußspuren aussehen, machen. Den Beispiel ist links auf dem Bild ‚Footprints in sand‘ gezeigt. Kinder sind selbst von dieser optischen Täuschung sehr beeindruckt.  

Collage aus Original-Kinderzeichnungen

Im Alter von 4 bis 7 Jahren haben kleine Künstler die ‚Intellektueller Realismus‘ Phase. Sie stellen ihre subjektive Weltdarstellung intuitiv nach inneres Modell und Phantasie dar. Deshalb sind diese Botschaften und Selbstaussagen des Kindes besonders wichtig. TIPP: Es mach unglaublich viel Spaß zusammen mit den Kleinen eine Collage aus ihren gelungenen Original-Zeichnungen zu basteln. So zeigen Sie Wertschätzung für ihre Arbeit und stärken Vertrauen den Kindern in die eigenen Fähigkeiten. Beispiel: Eine Applike der Originalzeichnungen von Maya (5 Jahre alt).

ThTitel: rough the eyes of a child

Through the eyes of a child

Lustige Figuren

Kinder geben oft bekannten Themen ganz neue Sichtweisen.. Ich wurde oft fasziniert von der Fähigkeit meiner Tochter in jedem Kritzelkrakel eine Figur oder einen neuen Kontext zu finden.. Kreativität schließt auch den Mut zum Ungewöhnlichen und Unkonventionellen ein. Aus Motiven der Kinderzeichnungen und Experimenten mit verschiedenen Arten des Farbauftrages sind spannende Formen entstanden.

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.